Recommended Reading

God's Pattern for the Christian Life

God’s Pattern for the Christian Life
Three Volumes in One by Keith Southworth
Written by a member of the Leyland Pentecostal Church

This book sets forth the conviction that Hebrews 6: 1-2 reveals that the Christian life is to be built on a specific foundation which has been determined by God.

It consists of six elements:

Baptism in water
Baptism in the Holy Spirit
The doctrine of the resurrection of the dead, and
The doctrine of eternal judgement.

This foundation, composed of all these elements, is essential for the daily life of every Christian and for the attainment of his/her full development in spiritual growth and service. Every believer must lay this foundation or suffer real loss. These six doctrines therefore are of supreme importance, and a correct understanding of them is vital. They are carefully expounded in depth. This book calls for re-examination of the scriptures and a rediscovery of this key. It challenges every Christian to accept and implement God’s pattern for the Christian life.

“This scholarly work based on Hebrews 6:1-2 presents a real challenge to more traditional views on what is often considered to be the normal pattern for the Christian life. It deserves to be read by all church leaders and serious students of the New Testament. Volume 2, which sheds much light on the controversial subjects of baptism in water and baptism in the Holy Spirit and the value of speaking in tongues, is particularly helpful.” – Revd. Dr David Petts MA (Oxon), MTh PhD. Principal, Mattersey Hall Bible College (1966-2004)

About The Author: converted at the age of seventeen, graduated at Durham University, received a Short Course Diploma at the London Bible College, taught Divinity in an English grammar school where many pupils were saved and baptised in the Holy Spirit, and served full-time in mission work in Eire for five years during which, together with another worker, he planted a Pentecostal church in Dublin. Whilst working in British Gas for twenty five years he ministered as a lay preacher and bible teacher. Subsequently he became the minister of an F.I.E.C church in the city of Preston for six years before retiring to write this book. Happily married for over forty years he has a son, daughter, four granddaughters and one grandson.

Thankful Books. Price: £14.95 ISBN 978-1-905084-16-6